Sound Stories. Sound Voices.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
You are on the KUOW archive site. Click here to go to our current site.

Election results: Durkan declared next Seattle mayor

Update 11/8/2017, 4:15 p.m.

Jenny Durkan has won the race for Seattle mayor. 

She had a strong lead on opponent Cary Moon after initial results Tuesday night, and Moon did not make up ground after the latest results were posted Wednesday afternoon.

Moon offered a concession statement:

"I ran for mayor because I felt an immense duty and responsibility to ensure Seattle — our beautiful, vibrant, diverse city — works for everyone.

“While the election results will probably continue to tighten, the outcome is unlikely to be what we hoped. We should not let that discourage us. Despite being outspent 3:1, we ran a strong, transparent, and honest campaign about vision and solutions. We drove the conversation around housing affordability, real estate speculation, municipal broadband, and wealth inequality.

“l have offered my congratulations to Jenny Durkan, Seattle’s first woman mayor in 90 years. I urge her to boldly confront the challenges facing our city and to remember that Seattle's prosperity should provide shared opportunity and success for everyone, not just the wealthy few.

“To our supporters who may feel disappointed, I feel disappointed too. But I will not let the future of our city be sunk by status quo thinking and politics as usual. There is too much at stake.

“That is why I ask you to join me in making sure the promises made during this campaign are actualized. We must ensure our homeless neighbors can move back inside, that people of all income levels have a place in our city, and that our elected leaders share power across race, gender, and class in our government.

“Thank you for all you have done for this campaign. We all belong here, and deserve a voice in shaping our city’s future. I know you won’t stop fighting for what you believe is right, and I won’t stop fighting either."

On the Eastside, Democrat Manka Dhingra has also won the 45th Legislative District race, shifting the majority away from the Republicans in the state Senate.

Results in other major regional races have changed little since Tuesday night. Notably, incumbent John Urquhart continues to trail Mitzi Johanknecht for King County sheriff.

Jump to election results

Original story:

Jenny Durkan is off to an early lead in the race to become Seattle's next mayor, the first female to hold the position since 1928. She leads Cary Moon with 61 percent of the vote after the first results drop Tuesday night.

In front of a jubilant crowd, Durkan said she likes to count every vote, but was feeling "really, really good." 

Moon, however, was not conceding at her election party. "Seattle late voters may surprise everyone," she said to her supporters. "We are not out of this yet."

Tim Burgess, who is serving as mayor after Ed Murray resigned in September, is stepping down from his City Council position. His seat is being contested by two left-leaning candidates: Teresa Mosqueda and Jon Grant. Currently, Mosqueda leads with 62 percent of the vote.

There is one other City Council seat on the ballot this year. Incumbent Councilmember Lorena Gonzalez is well ahead of her opponent, Pat Murakami, with 68 percent of the vote.

On the Eastside, Democrat Manka Dhingra leads Republican Jinyoung Lee Englund in the hotly contested Senate race in the 45th Legislative District, which includes Kirkland, Totem Lake and Sammamish. If that result holds, Republicans will lose their majority in the state Senate.

At nearly $9 million in spending, this contest has crushed the record for most expensive race ever for a legislative seat in Olympia.

One surprise was in the race for King County sheriff: Incumbent John Urquhart is trailing Mitzi Johanknecht. He has held the post for five years.

Johanknecht has 32 years on the force and has said she ran in part because of how Urquhart handled allegations and a lawsuit alleging sexual assault against him, filed by former staff members. She currently has 52 percent of the vote.

Another long-serving incumbent, Dow Constantine, is performing well with 75 percent of the vote. Constantine first took the office in 2009 and was challenged by Bill Hirt. 

See the current election results (last updated: Tuesday, Nov. 8, 3:54 p.m.)

Seattle: Mayor |City Attorney| Council Position 8 | Council Position 9

King County: Prop 1 | Executive | Sheriff | More results (external site)

Statewide: District 31 | District 45 | District 48More results (external site)

[asset-images[{"caption": "Teresa Mosqueda greets supporters on Tuesday, November 7, 2017, at Optimism Brewing Company in Seattle. ", "fid": "140600", "style": "placed_wide", "uri": "public://201711/MF_Election07.jpg", "attribution": "Credit KUOW Photo/Megan Farmer"}]]

[asset-pullquotes[{"quote": "Seattle - Mayor", "style": "wide"}]]Jenny Durkan 60%  

Cary Moon 40%  

Back to top

[asset-pullquotes[{"quote": "Seattle - City Attorney", "style": "wide"}]]Pete Holmes 73% 

Scott Lindsay 27%  

Back to top

[asset-pullquotes[{"quote": "Seattle - City Council, Position 8", "style": "wide"}]]Teresa Mosqueda 62%

Jon Grant 38%

Back to top

[asset-pullquotes[{"quote": "Seattle - City Council, Position 9", "style": "wide"}]]M. Lorena Gonzalez 68%

Pat Murakami 32%

Back to top

[asset-pullquotes[{"quote": "King County - Proposition 1", "style": "wide"}]]Levy lid life for veterans, seniors and vulnerable populations

Approved 66%

Rejected 34%

Back to top

[asset-pullquotes[{"quote": "King County - Executive", "style": "wide"}]]Dow Constantine 76%

Bill Hirt 24%

Back to top

[asset-pullquotes[{"quote": "King County - Sheriff", "style": "wide"}]]Mitzi Johanknecht 53%

John Urquhart 47%

Back to top

[asset-pullquotes[{"quote": "Legislative District 31 - Senator", "style": "wide"}]]Phil Fortunato (R)  57%

Michelle Rylands (D) 43%

Back to top

[asset-pullquotes[{"quote": "Legislative District 31 - Representative", "style": "wide"}]]Morgan Irwin (R) 59%

Nate Lowry (D) 41%

Back to top

[asset-pullquotes[{"quote": "Legislative District 45 - Senator", "style": "wide"}]]Manka Dhingra (D) 55%

Jinyoung Lee Englund (R) 45%

Back to top

[asset-pullquotes[{"quote": "Legislative District 48 - Senator", "style": "wide"}]]Patty Kudere (D) 69%

Michelle Darnell (R) 31%

Back to top

[asset-pullquotes[{"quote": "Legislative District 48 - Representative, Position 1", "style": "wide"}]]Vandana Slatter (D) 73%

Ciaran Dougherty (L) 27%

Back to top